top of page
  • ldambra1781

The During (part 3)

Updated: Dec 4, 2022

Now that I'm back in Colorado, it's time to start looking at my end goal: creating a garment inspired by the Mines community and their values. I also want to learn a new sewing technique while I make my garment.


My first step was turning to the Mines community for inspiration. My original plan involved taking pictures of individual outfits seen across campus and synthesizing them to create an original piece. However, I quickly found out that lots of people were unwilling to have their picture taken as they were walking to and from class. Instead, I sat outside during a passing period I wasn't busy (I did this on multiple days) and took some generic pictures (shown below). I also made it a game to write down an outfit description of anybody that passed within 10 feet of me.


Here are some things I noticed:

  • This may seem obvious, but I was really surprised at the amount of Mines merchandise I saw! I visit my younger sister's college campus quite frequently and I feel like I don't see nearly as much of her college's merchandise being worn around.

  • I expected to see a lot of hoodies and sweatpants (we are a college campus after all) but I was also surprised to see a lot of plaids, hiking pants, and hiking boots. It turns out lots of people adopt the Colorado lifestyle and associated outfits when they come here.

  • Speaking of which, I also expected weather to have an effect on what everyone was wearing. Nope! As it turns out, Mines student will happily walk to class in eight inches of snow while wearing shorts and sandals or wear floor length coats on days where it doesn't get below 50.

  • Functionality is key when it comes to being a Mines student. Whether it's wearing pencils in your hair so you always have one on hand or only wearing pants with massive cargo pockets or being able to whip out a tiny screwdriver from nowhere, Mines students seem to always be ready for literally anything.

  • We're sort of an unimaginative bunch when it comes to color. I picked a separate day to watch and record observations about color because I was curious. I wound up making a color coded chart so I could see all of the colors at once. A small section of the chart I made is below, it looks like I'll be sticking with a neutral or blue palette.


Keeping all that in mind, here are my top three garment ideas:


Idea 1: A button-down

I think it would be a lot of fun to make a custom plaid pattern and then make a plaid shirt out of it, but as I'm running short on time, a button-down would be simpler. I've never made button holes on my sewing machine before, so I'd be excited to try this out. I also think it would be fun to make something with pockets and light weight interfacing.


Idea 2: A hoodie

I think it may be illegal to attend Mines (or just college in general) without a hoodie. Hoodies are fun because they have big pockets and gathered cuffs. My last attempt at making a hood didn't go so great, so I'd be excited to try it again. I'd also really like to work on finishing seams professionally, something that would be absolutely necessary for this project.


Idea 3: A t-shirt

This one may feel generic, but t-shirts are basically a blank canvas. I could learn to screen print or a quilting technique (sort of illustrated above). A t-shirt would also be a good way to learn to finish seams. I could also finally learn how to use a double needle on my sewing machine, something I've never done before.


After careful consideration, I've decided to pursue the hoodie option. Let's start designing!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wrap Up

This project has come a long way since its conception this past summer. What ultimately started as an exploration of the Mines community through fashion has since turned into an exploration into value

bottom of page